Uncategorized

would you be such a man..?


Maggie Murdock: I’m gonna need you more than you need me.
Jamie Randall: That’s okay.
Maggie Murdock: [crying] No it’s not! It isn’t fair! I have places to go!
Jamie Randall: You’ll go there. I just may have to carry you.
Maggie Murdock: I can’t ask you to do that.
Jamie Randall: You didn’t.

(Love & Other Drugs, 2010)

this is not the best romantic comedy/chick flick i’ve ever seen but there’s something in it that keeps me attached to the screen – there’s chemistry in both of the main leads, but what gets me the most is the determination played by Jamie Randall..he decides to stay with a sick girl and he doesn’t ask for anything in return, though his character makes you think “can he does that..?he’s such a Casanova” well, he actually wants something he can take care of and someone who think he’s enough..

“I’m full of shit, okay? No I’m..I’m knowingly full of shit. Because, uh..because uh, uh..I have..I have NEVER cared about anybody or anything in my entire life. And the thing is, everybody just kind of accepted that. Like, “That’s just Jamie.” And then you!..God! You! You. You didn’t see me that way. I have never known anyone who actually believed that I was enough. Until I met you. And then you made me believe it, too. So, uh..unfortunately..I need you. And you need me” 

(Jamie Randall, Love & Other Drugs, 2010)

this movie touches me, but i’m not genuinely touched..but the script is one of the best among other romantic comedies/chick flicks..

i understand Maggie’s decision of wanting to call it a quit..their relationship i mean..i would’ve done the same thing if the situation is reversed to me..i would not want to be holding someone else’s back especially when that someone is expecting a bright future and that someone has all the potentials to become successful..trust me you would do the same too even if you’re desperately in need of extra attention and care..because everytime he needs to take you to the hospital, he’d be struggling to hide the phone calls from the people he works with and he’d be checking the time every minute while waiting for your sessions to finish..and of course it’s even harder on you when he has to spend for you, even if he can afford to..

so basically their story relies on Randall’s determination to hold on to that relationship..such a kind hearted man he is..as he says it,

“Let’s just say in some alternate universe, there’s a couple just like us, okay? Only she’s healthy and he’s perfect. And their world is about how much they’re going to spend on vacation or who’s in a bad mood that day, or whether they feel guilty about having a cleaning lady. I don’t want to be those people. I want us. You. This”

(Jamie Randall, Love & Other Drugs, 2010)

so do watch this movie if you haven’t got the chance yet..and see if you’re impressed with the script as i do 🙂 owh, but some sex scenes are just needless..especially in the first part of this movie..

3 thoughts on “would you be such a man..?

Leave a Reply

